Chapter 14 Finally The Good News

StarfishWhat a breath of fresh air. Fresh air and an incredible reminder and challenge that could shake our core. I loved this chapter (again). As harsh and hard as the last few chapters were I am always so thankful for how Rich sets it up and reminds us that “we must not, as Christians, stick our heads in the sand and pretend that the world is doing just fine because we are.”

Our reality is just that, our reality. It’s a good reminder. I loved most the two most basic reminders of actions we can take. We are NOT to sit here just pitying the poor. We must take action. And that action doesn’t need to be big and grandiose in the lives of the world, just of one person – the one we can impact.

It is possible to change the world’s realities, and that is exactly what God has challenged us to do. This is what it means to be “salt and light” in a dark and bleak world (Matthew 5:13-14). It’s what the Great Commission was all about.

Do something. A common running theme. The most impactful theme I’ve ever encountered.

And prayer. This is not just a physical battle, there are spiritual forces at work here. There is a legitimate battle taking place that we often can’t see – only the effects of such. We must pray.

And prayer is not the domain of the United Nations or of the governments of the world. Only the faith community can draw upon the power of God through prayer.

That’s on us. Again, two powerful messages to me in my mind. 1. Do something. 2. Pray. Call upon the most powerful force there is and ever will be. He is there. We must pray and we must act. Together, in tandem.

This is heavy on my heart and mind as I prepare to leave for Haiti. Remember when I said I was going to do it? Well, I am. Saturday as a matter of fact. What God has in store for me I don’t know. I pray I get to make an impact. I pray I can make a difference. And as selfish as it sounds, I look forward to what God has to teach me. My world needs to be rocked a little. I’ve been reading about it and doing what I can from the comfort of my own home – it’s time to get a little dirty, a little uncomfortable, a little real.

Leave a comment

Filed under The Hole In Our Gospel

Leave a Reply

