Chapter 6 – A Hole In Me

“It takes a transformed people to transform the world.”

I loved this chapter because I loved hearing Rich’s story, his journey about his denial of Jesus, the “Easter Bunny” line he used. I can relate to his religion of self-reliance. It’s fairly easy for me to slip into that. I often think, “I’ll just do it myself” in a lot of life situations which quite frankly has never once served me well in the long run.

I also started to become really convicted in the middle-end of the chapter. Did you?

A couple things I have underlined – “The thing about truth that is most annoying is that it is  true, making anything that contradicts it false. Christ is either God incarnate, risen from the dad, or He is not.” I love this. Absolutely love it. I never stopped to think about the implications of this though until I read this book. Although I had always desired or said I desired more of Him, I believe He was requiring more – more action from me. The concept of “His  teachings become the operating system of our lives.”

I hadn’t until this chapter really figured out that I had been living with a hole in my gospel. It was one of the reasons I wanted to share this book with others. To gain even more perspective, to hold myself accountable.

Gary Gulbranson’s quote of “It’s not what you believe that counts; it’s what you believe enough to do.” has stuck with me for months. Action. Doing. It all matters, yes. But only what we do.

I have read 1 John before and even the verses that Rich quoted, esp this part – “If anyone has material possessions and sees his brother in need but has no pity on him, how can the love of God be in him?” I always read that and thought, “Well I’ll do my part, but I’m no Bill Gates… Until… I came upon the Global Rich List a few years ago. Go ahead and click on the link, enter in your income. As it turns out:

So it turns out the whole “anyone who has material possessions” sort of applies to me. So what do I believe enough to do?

 

4 Comments

Filed under The Hole In Our Gospel

4 responses to “Chapter 6 – A Hole In Me

  1. kconley17

    Here are a few of my thoughts from this chapter:
    “The transforming power of the gospel in the life of each person is a miracle.” I am so guilty of forgetting this – my pride steps in and and I think it’s me but it is definitely not!
    I also loved the quote “God uses broken and imperfect people to challenge and inspire us.” I pray that my life and the is an inspiration to others.
    I also appreciate God’s perfect timing. (I continue to pray for my oldest son and his faith journey (or lack of) here!!) Romans 8:28 “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”

    • So true Kim. I think it’s easy to sometimes look at the altar call every week and forget that peoples lives are getting changed and that is a miracle. A true, miracle and I get to experience and be a part of it weekly. It’s pretty awesome.

  2. Allison

    A little snippet that caught my attention in this chapter was the analogy of our faith residing in only a certain “room” of our house, like its just a separate thing from all the other things in our lives and at the end of the chapter he says “your faith must be like the very air you breathe, in every room of the house. It must permeate….” It really makes sense to me to think of faith that way, as air that we NEED and that is all around us, all the time.

Leave a Reply

